A Potentially Unpopular Opinion on The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo (Swedish version)

So I’ve just seen the Swedish version of The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo. Frankly, I’m not too happy. Granted, the performance of Noomi Rapace is indeed the best thing about the film. However, it all strikes me as an overlong, pulp film. The elements of pulp fiction is evident: grisly murders, sex, ┬ánudity, a serial killer with an M.O., and two characters who shouldn’t fall in love with each other but do anyway.

Seeing the Swedish version makes me think twice of watching Fincher‘s take on the book. I’m not too impressed with the source material for I find it a bit “shallow”. Fine; violence against women is deplorable, but showing a 2hour 30 minute film about a Nazi misogynist seems a bit too overlong to shove the “violence against women is bad” message.

Oh well, to each his own, I guess.

At least Fincher’s version has Rooney Mara in it. That’s reason enough for me to watch the film.

Leave a Reply

