REALLY Short Review: Skyfall

Okay, the last film review on this blog was The Expendables 2. For that, I apologize. Some might say that my analysis of Sinister can be classified as a review, but it isn’t: it’s an analysis on my impressions of how horror films must end (wherein I lazily included the score).

But I digress, I am here to briefly talk about the movie formerly known as Bond 23, A.K.A. Skyfall. For now, let me just say that this film is possibly one of the best action film’s I’ve seen this year (and that’s saying a lot, considering that for some reason, 2012 seems to be having a drought on decent films recently).

The Good

Can I say that this film is near perfect in every way? These are just initial impressions about the film but for now, I would have to say that this film, despite it pretty overlong, is an excellent film.  The cinematography is excellent (courtesy of Roger Deakins, who lighted and shot the Coen Brothers’ visually excellent films). Thomas Newman’s score is probably the best I’ve heard from him. The performances from Daniel Craig, Judi Dench, Ralph Fiennes, and Javier Bardem are amazing. And the action sequences show us  Sam Mendes’s abilities as an action director: they are exciting enough without having to resort to Quantum of Solace‘s shaky-cam approach which clearly does not belong to a James Bond film.

The Bad

This portion is mere nitpicking. The film is a bit over-long (two hours and twenty two minutes) and one gets the impression of Sam Mendes pulling off a Christopher Nolan here.

One last thing: Naomie Harris seems out of place as a Bond girl, although I think I understand her being cast here. She really isn’t a Bond girl per se, but she is definitely  one of those girls who have to be present in a traditional Bond film.

The Verdict

Overall, my qualms about this film is mere nitpicking. For now, I still can’t find anything distractingly wrong with this film. The action sequences are well shot and choreographed, the visuals are stunning, the script is well written, and the Easter eggs for those Bond enthusiasts will clearly satisfy them.

I can’t wait for the next one.

4.5 stars out of 5.

One thought on “REALLY Short Review: Skyfall

  1. CMrok93

    After this movie, I think it’s safe to say that Bond is back to his old ways and hopefully he stays there and keeps the franchise moving. Good review.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

